Artist ID #11: Mary F. Coats

Mary F. Coats

Lives and works in Iowa City, IA (b. London, UK)

maryfcoats.com

“Repetition has become an undeniable focus of my work, as I continuously pull from a catalogue of forms I have assembled. Each work can be considered as a portrayal of a unique, but simultaneously familiar, space. These are places I have been or imagined or dreamed of, spaces I have inhabited or imagined or dreamed of.” (artist’s statement)

Top 5 works:

Alcove, 2012
Alcove, 2012
VSC Residency 2014
VSC Residency 2014
Good Kid, Mad City, 2014
Good Kid, Mad City, 2014
Praise, 2014
Praise, 2014
VSC Residency 2014
VSC Residency 2014

“I feel that through these repeated forms a larger, more complex environment is coming to exist, only reachable through recollection. In an attempt to recreate the true essence of a time or place, I am constantly questioning the way I remember things, in hopes to more clearly discern what is true.” (artist’s statement)

Leave a Reply

