Photo Series #5: Senescence by Chloe Sells

Chloe Sells

(b. Aspen, Colorado, US)

chloesells.com

“I use the natural world throughout my imagery and create pictures that describe remnants of places that I have lived, traveled and explored. After making the pictures, I have an in-depth darkroom process that layers colors and textures to create unique pieces. I use this combination of processes to consider ideas about how we experience our environments and how we understand what is exotic or familiar.” *

Senescence

Chloe Sells, Peacock With Skull, 2013
Chloe Sells, Peacock With Skull, 2013
Chloe Sells, Between Beasts, 2013
Chloe Sells, Between Beasts, 2013
Chloe Sells, Pairidaêza, 2013
Chloe Sells, Pairidaêza, 2013
Chloe Sells, Artemis, n.d.
Chloe Sells, Artemis, n.d.
Chloe Sells, Conversation Piece, n.d.
Chloe Sells, Conversation Piece, n.d.
Chloe Sells, Monster With Juju Hat, 2013
Chloe Sells, Monster With Juju Hat, 2013
Chloe Sells, The Backwards Glance, 2013
Chloe Sells, The Backwards Glance, 2013
Chloe Sells, Olympia, 2012
Chloe Sells, Olympia, 2012
Chloe Sells, Virtue and Vice, n.d.
Chloe Sells, Virtue and Vice, n.d.
Chloe Sells, Obstacles To Conquest, n.d.
Chloe Sells, Obstacles To Conquest, n.d.
Chloe Sells, Green Soaked Greenery, n.d.
Chloe Sells, Green Soaked Greenery, n.d.

“In my work, on the basis of aesthetics alone, I am content for people to take away an instance of beauty. However, I don’t believe that beauty’s power is limited to aesthetic pleasure. Despite being a bad word in the art world, I think it is an undernourished conduit, a forgotten destination, an instrument of subversion that can alter perspective through its physical and visceral nature. If I can shock my viewer into looking at the world differently through the use of beauty, I have done something right.” *

* Quotes from an Interview by Unseen Amsterdam

Leave a Reply

